Skip to content

The quest for the perfect dress

May 27, 2009
tags:

For our first official post, I want to discuss a topic that is near and dear to every bride: the dress.  This is the element of most weddings that usually launches the thrill of planning.  The dress is something that most brides have been dreaming  about from a very young age.  Whether your budget for your wedding gown is large or small, these days there is a style out there for all tastes and preferences. 

My own experience in purchasing my wedding gown was a truly unforgettable one, and dare I say it: fated.  I had only been engaged for about a month when my mother and I began our hunt for the venue.  I was planning about a year out (which turned into almost two, but that’s for another post), so I took the day off and we went scouting. 

After a couple of hours looking at several options to have our reception, we stopped in at Voo Doo BBQ to have a bite to eat.  As we sat near a window to eat, I glanced across the street at Town & Country Bridal, a well known bridal salon that’s been native to New Orleans since the 1930’s.  Town & Country carries the best of the best, including Vera Wang, Lazaro, Romona Keveza, Amsale, and many more.  As these designers are all beautiful in their own right, they were also not in my budget.  Nevertheless, being a new bride and all, I got the itch to go over – just to look, of course. 

Town & Country surprisingly had several reasonable gowns for me to try on (just looking, right?!?!) – all under $1,000.  My intention was to stay at about $500, and as I have simple taste, I figured I’d be able to do it.  While waiting for our sales person to take a phone call, my mom spotted a sale rack.  We began looking through the dresses that were mostly floor samples.  The major thing we noticed is how significantly they were marked down.  And when I say significant, I’m talking 75-85% down!!!  

The sales lady came back and noticed that we were open to trying on the samples.  She asked if I’d be willing to try something of a different color, other than white or ivory.  I’ve never been much for tradition, so I’m usually open to anything, as long as it looks and feels good.  She pulled a blush colored Duchess satin dress with a ball gown silhouette and Chantilly lace trim.  It was stunning, but I’m not usually one for the “princess look”.  I generally gravitate toward column and mermaid styles. 

Boy, was I wrong.  The moment I put it on, the tears began to fall.  I felt beautiful, but most of all, I felt like a bride.  The color was perfect for my complexion, and it had the most romantic train.  It was timeless.  Best of all, it was a $3,800 Lazaro that had been marked down to $450.  

SOLD! 

Here is a picture of my dress, in all it’s glory.

 dress_front

dress_back_color

My advice to brides out there who are still looking for that dream dress:  Go to all bridal stores, even if you think they’re out of your budget.  Most bridal boutiques have expert alterations and can alter to fit, even if the size is (like in my case) three sizes too big.  Don’t stop looking until you’ve found “the one”.  I can’t tell you how many brides I know that had “dress regret”.  This is a once in a lifetime event.  Make sure it’s what you want.

Side note for those of you in the New Orleans area:  Town & Country and their staff were some of the most knowledgeable, helpful people I have had the pleasure of working with.  My experience in fashion retail management taught me some valuable lessons and these people know what they are doing.  Your gown is an important investment, and you should trust who you are purchasing from.  This store is highly recommended.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

